Tideswell photo trip an unexpected success.

Last Friday we went up to Tideswell to see my parents, I had hoped to go for a walk in Tideswell Dale to get a few photos etc. However, the weather dashes the best laid plans, and we settled for half an hour in the main park on Commercial rd, during a break in the clouds.

On Saturday though, I took a few hours to go off on a photo shoot. After visiting an old friend, I went to Gibbett Rock (Peters Stone). The Valley was very flooded. The stream was being born from the living rock…it was literally bubbling up out of the limestone. The weather was airless and moody in the valley. I didn’t stay long , just long enough to get these few shots.

Gibbet Rock 2005

Then I drove up to Tideswell Dale. There is an avenue of Beech trees I used to play cricket near as a boy. It always strikes me a a sacred place but looks particularly beautiful in the autumn.

Leave a Reply

