I love the Lightning Tree


I love the “Lightning Tree.”

This old Sycamore has been growing on the outskirts of Tideswell well,since.. you tell me, since before I was born anyway. I used to walk to it as a lad with my mum and dad. Then we’d sit on the bench underneath it and have a swig of pop before strolling over to litton, or down Castleton Lane.

The old tree was supposedly hit by lightning and that’s why she has a large cleft on the far side. Thing is, she survived, and kept going. A few years ago I saw her looking in a very sorry state, but was really pleased to see her flourishing again now.

We all take these things for granted, but I’d be happy to hear of your Lightning Tree memories.

Leave a Reply

