Edwin Gregory – 1900 – 1995

Edwin Gregory - Tideswell

Edwin Gregory – Tideswell

Edwin Gregory was my Grandfather. My fathers father. He was fit as fiddle well into his eighties, or always seemed it. He could walk at a blistering pace and used to walk up “Town Head” to tend his plot of land. I know little of his early life, save to say he had some mechanical skills.

When I was a boy he would produce amazing Steam Engines from discarded pieces of junk. I mean, these things actually worked, they had boilers and chimneys, drive belts, wheels etc. They took real fuel. Sadly, I don’t have any pictures of one of these devices, but I’ll endeavour to get one.

Anyway, I took this photo myself when I was just a small boy. For a while it hung in my grandparents house, as everyone was so proud of it. I had certainly never taken such a good photo before, and hardly ever since. I never seemed to have a copy though for whatever reason, then when my Grandparents had died, I got to thinking about it. As it was the only decent photo we ever had of Granddad.

I later found out my Aunt had a copy of the photo, but although I borrowed numerous family photos from her, this one got over looked. There are quite a few folk in our extended family who are interested in the Gregory family tree, and when I went back to Tideswell this summer, I called in on my cousin Jonathan Buttle. He had this photograph and kindly made me a copy. Now My parents have a copy, and I have one, soon to hanging on the wall. I’m sharing it with you now.

Edwin’s father was Charles Herbert Gregory, his Grandfather was Charles Gregory and his Grandmother Elizabeth Millar.

One thought on “Edwin Gregory – 1900 – 1995

  1. Pingback: Gregory Brothers Shop Seedley, Salford & Tideswell Connections | A Tideswell Man's Weblog

Leave a Reply

