The Mysterious Merman House

Merman House - Tideswell

Merman House – Build by Ben Gregory in Tideswell

Some of you may remember that I found out some interesting stuff about Merman House in Tideswell. For those of you who do not remember, a relative of mine, Ben Gregory won a large sum of money by betting on  horse called ‘Merman’.   He used the winnings to build Merman House.

Merman belonged to Lily Langtree

A former occupier of the house contacted me and told me that the Horse belonged to the famous actress of the day. Actress, Lily Langtree.

Apparently this horse was RED HOT and won a hell of a lot of money for a lot of people. I found some old articles about it in the “New York Times“.

I first wrote this post in 2009, and it’s taken me four years to find an image of Merman.

Merman - Lily Langtrees Horse

Merman After winning the Gold Cup in 1900

Previously, I had only been able to locate a photo of Merman’s Father, ‘Grand Flaneur’.

“Grand Flaneur was Mermans Father He sired the Melbourne Cup winners Patron, Bravo, and at least 13 other major performers including Merman who was sent to England to win the 1900 Ascot Gold Cup, and also won the Goodwood Cup, Jockey Club Cup and Cesarewitch Handicap.”

4 thoughts on “The Mysterious Merman House

    • Now, that’s a question I cannot answer in any detail Helen. If I were to hazard a guess, the barn maybe belonged to the Gregory’s too at one time, several of the houses up Town Head did. I doubt it would have even had a name though. I’m thinking that name was applied by a later owner.

  1. Pingback: Gregory Brothers, Seedley, Salford | A Tideswell Man's Weblog

  2. Pingback: Family History is for Everyone Spotlight: Phil Gregory – Family Locket

Leave a Reply

