Raised Beds

Building Terraced Beds

Building  Terraced Beds

Well, I have sort of taken my own advice.  I realised that if I wasn’t careful i’d end up with nothingas the plot needs a lot of work to bring it to Fruition.  So I resoved to clear a path at a time and build the beds as I go.  As you can see though the soil is very claggy and so I’ll leave it to dry out in this unexpected sunny period.  I had planned to level the whole plot but after digging out the second bed, i realised this was going to be a bit too much work to achieve this year.  So I opted for a Terraced effect, which has actually given me a bit more room than I’d expected. Well, I have sort of taken my own advice.  I realised that if I wasn’t careful i’d end up with nothingas the plot needs a lot of work to bring it to Fruition.  So I resoved to clear a path at a time and build the beds as I go.  As you can see though the soil is very claggy and so I’ll leave it to dry out in this unexpected sunny period.  I had planned to level the whole plot but after digging out the second bed, i realised this was going to be a bit too much work to achieve this year.  So I opted for a Terraced effect, which has actually given me a bit more room than I’d expected.

You can see where the Fork is, that is the next area to be dug out, the bed at the top right of the picture will have a sister shortly too.  So, Where you can see the green handle of my spade, will be Lettuce and Onions, plus some Chives.  The bed in the foreground will have Corn and Potatoes.  The top two beds (only one built so far) will be Pumpkin, Squash, Courgette and Cucumbers.  Peas are growing nicely at home, as are the strawberries which are out of shot.

In the second image you can see just how far I have had to  dig down..the depth of the boards is where the ground level was.

Raised Beds

Raised Beds

Leave a Reply

