Loving Local Landscapes

I added the strapline, “Loving Local Landscapes” to this blog in early 2016. It was in response to an assignment for work, that I was undertaking as a part of a copywriting course by the CMP.

It’s been a busy year in general and my personal direction has altered a few times, wrestling with where the line should be with my public and private persona and just what I want to share online.  I have long been a lover of nature and history, and yet my tweets are often political, as is the material that I post to Facebook.  I feel the two worlds are not always compatible and should not bleed into each other, keeping both strands pure for those with similar interests. Nature lovers may not want politics and Politico’s may not care for updates on hill and dale.

Subsequently, all posts of all types have suffered from my hiatus, whilst I ponder exactly how to separate the content appropriately to ensure the right audience gets the right material.

The Direction for 2017

This Weblog shall remain a-political, focusing on the landscape and history of the Peak District and my interpretation and interaction with those elements.  To underline that commitment, Here’s a little of what I’ve been up to at the end of 2016.

img_5126

Crich Stand Trig: One of the easiest in the area.

A Trip To Crich Stand

The Crich Memorial (known locally as Crich Stand) is one of those places that has been on my list to visit for a very long time, and yet it’s one of those places I never seemed to get to, until now.

Despite having visited the tramway museum a few years ago, having had relatives in the area, and visiting friends in the village itself, I’d never gotten up to Crich stand itself, much to my annoyance.

As I’m sure any walker/runner will know, all too often we pass a place in our cars, and vow to investigate, and yet allow life to jostle us past every gaping opportunity.  Well, no more.

After the excesses of the Christmas holiday,  Mum and I headed up to Crich with the aim of wandering up to the Stand. It was a cold crisp day,  we made the stroll very steady.

img_5073

I believed that The Memorial tower was dedicated to the fallen soldiers of the Sherwood foresters (Nottinghamshire & Derbyshire Regiment). I was unaware though that the regiment had been merged with the Worcestershire regiment. Today that merged regiment is part of the Mercian Regiment, all part of Army restructuring.

img_5117

img_5119

For more information about the history of the tower, see the Crich Memorial Website.

img_5092

We wandered around looking at the inscriptions on the War memorials to the dead that have fallen since WW2, took a few piccys and walked up to the trig, peering down into the Tramway Museum below.

There was a  chap flying his Drone up there, getting some ariel footage and just generally enjoying the views. We exchanged pleasantries, and Instagram handles, though I couldn’t find his account, perhaps, he’ll find my Instagram or read this?

img_5071
Sadly, the tower itself was closed, but we do hope to visit again and perhaps get to take in the view on that occasion.

2 thoughts on “Loving Local Landscapes

Leave a Reply

